Preliminary Schedule/Highlights

Preliminary Schedule

Thursday, May 31, 2018

11:00 am (EDT)           On-site check-in and registration opens

1:00 pm                       Opening Worship

2:30 pm                       Plenary Session I

5:00 pm                       Break before dinner (check into hotel, visit Mission Fest)

6:30 pm                       Leading Church Together Mission Banquet

Friday, June 1, 2018

8:30 am                       Plenary Session II

11:00 am                     Affinity Group discussions

12:30 pm                    Buffet Lunch

1:30 pm                       Plenary Session II (continued)

Afternoon Workshops, Service Projects

5:30 pm                       Dinner on your own

Optional evening activities:  Hymn Sing, Downtown Walking Tour, Dessert Reception and Music

Saturday, June 2, 2018

8:30 am                       Eucharist Worship

10:00 am                     Plenary Session III

12:00 pm                    Benediction and Adjournment


Assembly Highlights

  • Celebration of leaders and communities throughout the Indiana-Kentucky Synod
  • Inspiring worship
  • Celebratory banquet
  • Youth Leadership Summit for high school students
  • Workshops focused on important aspects of church leadership
  • Motivating and informative plenary sessions
  • Election of Synod Council, board and committee members
  • Election of Churchwide Assembly voting members
  • Affinity group discussions – new this year, this is an opportunity to get to know others who share an interest in a particular topic
  • Opportunity to participate in a service project at Community Harvest Food Bank or cancer pad sewing led by a group from Faith Lutheran Church in Fort Wayne
  • Several optional activities for Friday evening to enjoy the local flavor of the Fort Wayne area, including a hymn sing, led by Robert A. Hobby, at Trinity English Lutheran Church, a dessert reception (and cash bar) with music at Come2go Ministries, and a downtown walking tour

Where every member is a missionary, every pastor is a mission director, and every congregation is a mission center.