Eventbrite - 2016 Indiana-Kentucky Synod Assembly

Spirit Filled. Spirit Sent.

29th Annual Indiana-Kentucky Synod Assembly – June 9-11, 2016

Made New for Mission Banquet: Celebrating Leaders and Ministries of the Past, Present and Future

The Thursday evening banquet is an opportunity to lift up people and ministries from across Indiana and Kentucky, as we come together to rejoice and give thanks to God for the common mission we share.

Commissioning, Consecration and Ordination Anniversaries for Rostered Leaders

Honorees celebrating 50 years of service

Rev. Lowell L. Anderson
Rev. Alan L. Lorentzen
Rev. Keith Munneke
Rev. Daniel L. Nugent

Rev. Herbert M. Schlotterbeck
Rev. Theodore A. Stoneberg
Rev. James T. Swanson
Rev. H. Gene Templar

Honorees celebrating 25 years of service

Rev. Charlene R. Cox
Rev. Debra L. Meuter

Rev. Carole B. Poole
Rev. Andrew L. S. Rutrough
Rev. Christine Schrey

We will also recognize those leaders with more than 50 years of service

Rev. John F. Seibert II – 55 years
Rev. John M. Moe, Jr. – 55 years
Rev. Richard G. Frazier – 60 years

Rev. Thomas M. BeMiller – 60 years
Rev. Armin H. Reitz – 70 years

  Congregational Anniversaries

150 Years        Emanuel Lutheran Church, Greendale, IN

Zion Lutheran Church, Hartford City, IN

75 Years          Griffith Evangelical Lutheran Church, Griffith, IN

  • Congregations under Development, Congregations under Redevelopment and Mission Developers
  • New Rostered Leaders in the IN-KY Synod
  • Partners in Mission: Ecumenical Guests

Thursday Evening Worship and Reception

The opening Eucharist worship service will be held at the Century Center – Discovery Ballroom at 8:00 p.m. on Thursday, June 9, 2016. All are welcome to attend, especially those from area congregations. Bishop Bill Gafkjen will preside. A reception and time for fellowship will immediately follow at the DoubleTree hotel’s atrium/lobby area.

Worship Offering Designations

  •  The offering from the Gathering Eucharist will support Freed to Lead. This ministry of the Indiana-Kentucky Synod, which began in 2009 through a grant of the Lilly Endowment Inc., is being revitalized this year. This program is designed to assist rostered leaders in personal finance and stewardship education, help alleviate debt and economic challenges, and provide tools and resources relating to congregational stewardship.
  • The offering from the Sending Eucharist will support the Always Being Made New: The Campaign for the ELCA in the area of Leadership. This portion of the ELCA Campaign focuses on future leaders of the church by supporting youth and young adults, and those individuals who are preparing for a calling in public ministry.

 Important Dates to Keep in Mind

February 17 – Assembly registration opens: https://2016iksynodassembly.eventbrite.com  Registration rates are $195.00 for voting members and visitors, $95.00 for retired rostered leaders. This fee includes 2 dinners, refreshment breaks and all materials.

March 31 – Registration discount ends at midnight. After this date registration rates increase to $225.00 for voting members and visitors, $110.00 for retired rostered leaders.

May 9 – Last day of guaranteed rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Room rate is $112.00 per night, plus taxes. Parking fees will be waived for our attendees.

May 18 – Pre-assembly registration ends. Only on-site registrations will be accepted after this date and meals are not guaranteed. On-site registration fees are $250.00 for voting members and visitors, $125.00 for retired rostered leaders.

Resolution Submission Forms –  All you need to know to submit a resolution to the assembly.  


Heather Apel, Director of Synod Assembly Planning

Indiana-Kentucky Synod, ELCA

911 E 86th St., Suite 200, Indianapolis, IN 46240 – Phone: 317.253.3522

Email: [email protected]